Probably the most shocking thing I saw in this episode was the skeleton of Gyatso. For a show that's C8, that's pretty mature - especially when the details are given out and it's revealed that there was genocide involved.
Also, I loved the Agni Kai. Seeing Zuko's turmoil, having hints of his not-so-black-and-white history, was really interesting and refreshing to see in what usually would be a flat Gargamel of a character. Seeing the martial arts in the scene was also pure eyeporn.
"Probably the most shocking thing I saw in this episode was the skeleton of Gyatso."
Agreed. I hadn't actually realised, when I first watched the series, how young the intended audience was -- I had assumed it was aimed directly at the tween market and up. So it's not until now that I've recognised what a visceral (and even slightly scary) moment that is.
"Seeing the martial arts in the scene was also pure eyeporn."
Every single firebending sequence makes me want to take up martial arts. Even though I am totally unco-ordinated.
I also thought it was for tweens and up, which was why I was so shocked when I saw books for the series in the Very Young Readers section (after I started watching it). I was like... Huh.
I thought the skeleton surrounded by Fire Nation uniforms was plenty creepy, and I'm a good thirty years older than the target audience. If I'd actually been a little kid watching this, it would have scared the hell out of me.
One of the unspoken little things I liked is that Gyatso obviously took down a hell of a lot of soldiers before he finally fell. Which is pretty impressive for a peaceful monk.
One of the reasons I love AtLA is the way it handles Aang's grief and guilt over being the last of his kind. It's a constant presence, but never becomes a crutch that takes the place of actual storytelling, or an excuse for cheap angst. (Unlike, say, certain periods of new Doctor Who. *grumps*)
And I always forget that Zhao is introduced this early in the series. (Actually, I often forget about Zhao's existence at all. You mean there was a time before Azula?) I really do enjoy his scenes with Zuko, especially the Agni Kai, which is ... well, my BFF piecesofalice remarked, "This is a bit homo-erotic, isn't it?"
Random fact: ginseng is regarded as an aphrodisiac in parts of Asia, and ginseng tea was traditionally drunk by older men to preserve or enhance their virility. In some cultures*, this means Zhao and Iroh are married now.
How could your forget about Jason Isaacs' sexy voice? That was by far my main reason for paying attention to Zhao, who turned out to be the real cardboard villain of the first book.
In some cultures*, this means Zhao and Iroh are married now.
This fic exists somewhere, doesn't it? No, don't tell me, I don't want to know. (Unless it's crack, in which case I need it immediately.)
I saw Jason Isaacs in some movie with Jennifer Aniston and was shocked at how good his American accent was. If I hadn't already known he was British, I'd never have guessed.
And there's no Iroh/Zhao fic at all? Rule 34 can't have failed us! That's unpossible!
My "How I Got Into Avatar" story goes something like this:
"I don't like anime." "It's American. It's not really anime." "I don't really watch TV shows." (at this point that was true!) "The episodes are twenty minutes long!" "I don't really like anime or tv and look, I'm probably just not going to get into this one, as much as you want me to, and --" "THE MAIN VILLAIN IS VOICED BY JASON ISAACS." "...... where do I sign?"
I would like more Zhao always. I enjoy him so much.
(I could actually rewatch the ep before chucking in comments here, but it's 11pm on a Sunday and I have work in the morning. Eh, later.)
Interesting comparison to New Who, and I agree that it was handled with a much more deft touch on AtLA -- I don't forget it is a factor, but don't ever feel hammered over the head with it.
I remember being surprised that Zhao was dispatched for good in the season finale. "But he seemed so important!" Ah, only temporarily.
no subject
Date: 2011-01-09 02:06 am (UTC)Also, I loved the Agni Kai. Seeing Zuko's turmoil, having hints of his not-so-black-and-white history, was really interesting and refreshing to see in what usually would be a flat Gargamel of a character. Seeing the martial arts in the scene was also pure eyeporn.
no subject
Date: 2011-01-09 02:43 am (UTC)Agreed. I hadn't actually realised, when I first watched the series, how young the intended audience was -- I had assumed it was aimed directly at the tween market and up. So it's not until now that I've recognised what a visceral (and even slightly scary) moment that is.
"Seeing the martial arts in the scene was also pure eyeporn."
Every single firebending sequence makes me want to take up martial arts. Even though I am totally unco-ordinated.
no subject
Date: 2011-01-09 03:53 pm (UTC)no subject
Date: 2011-01-09 03:21 am (UTC)no subject
Date: 2011-01-09 03:46 am (UTC)no subject
Date: 2011-01-09 02:47 am (UTC)And I always forget that Zhao is introduced this early in the series. (Actually, I often forget about Zhao's existence at all. You mean there was a time before Azula?) I really do enjoy his scenes with Zuko, especially the Agni Kai, which is ... well, my BFF
Random fact: ginseng is regarded as an aphrodisiac in parts of Asia, and ginseng tea was traditionally drunk by older men to preserve or enhance their virility. In some cultures*, this means Zhao and Iroh are married now.
* Said cultures may not exist outside of fandom.
no subject
Date: 2011-01-09 03:26 am (UTC)In some cultures*, this means Zhao and Iroh are married now.
This fic exists somewhere, doesn't it? No, don't tell me, I don't want to know. (Unless it's crack, in which case I need it immediately.)
no subject
Date: 2011-01-09 03:48 am (UTC)I always forget it's him! He's so ... deep-voiced and American!
"This fic exists somewhere, doesn't it?"
I just searched AO3 and FF.net, and not only does it not exist, but there is no Iroh/Zhao fic AT ALL. I'm frankly a bit appalled.
no subject
Date: 2011-01-09 03:43 pm (UTC)And there's no Iroh/Zhao fic at all? Rule 34 can't have failed us! That's unpossible!
no subject
Date: 2011-01-09 03:52 pm (UTC)no subject
Date: 2011-01-09 12:01 pm (UTC)"I don't like anime."
"It's American. It's not really anime."
"I don't really watch TV shows." (at this point that was true!)
"The episodes are twenty minutes long!"
"I don't really like anime or tv and look, I'm probably just not going to get into this one, as much as you want me to, and --"
"THE MAIN VILLAIN IS VOICED BY JASON ISAACS."
"...... where do I sign?"
I would like more Zhao always. I enjoy him so much.
(I could actually rewatch the ep before chucking in comments here, but it's 11pm on a Sunday and I have work in the morning. Eh, later.)
no subject
Date: 2011-01-09 07:59 pm (UTC)"I don't like anime."
"It's American. It's not really anime."
"It's not Doctor Who."
"You just spent 20 minutes stomping around the house ranting about how much 'Last of the Time Lords' sucked."
"...You just spent 20 minutes stomping around the house ranting about some dude called Zuko."
"Jason Isaacs voices a character?"
"Yeah, no, I'm not one for cartoons."
YES, I AM PROPERLY ASHAMED OF MYSELF.
no subject
Date: 2011-03-27 11:46 pm (UTC)I remember being surprised that Zhao was dispatched for good in the season finale. "But he seemed so important!" Ah, only temporarily.